Presented by Ausdance

This longlist of nominations, along with recorded excerpts of performances, goes to the Selection Panel who will vote to shortlist their top four contenders in each category.

Not every single nomination will appear on this list. A long, unedited list (up to 550 nominations each year) is carefully scrutinised by the ADAs advisors and members of the Selection Panel to eliminate any nominations that do not meet all the Selection Criteria.

As the panel looks at excerpts of all nominated work before deciding on a shortlist, it is essential for the committee to keep only the most outstanding/significant nominations so that it remains a manageable task. The committee also takes care to ensure that the professional dance sector is well represented across all states and territories.

The shortlist will be announced about mid July, with winners announced at the 2017 Australian Dance Awards in Melbourne on Sunday 24 September.

Ausdance National thanks the ADAs Selection Panel members who not only generously donote their time and expertise, but do so with great diligence and consideration. Ausdance National is responsible for the management of nominations, liaison with the panel members and advisors, maintaining the Selection Criteria and overseeing a rigorous voting procedure.

Services to Dance

  • Ben Cobham
  • Nicolette Fraillon AM
  • Jennifer Irwin
  • Valerie Lawson
  • Susan Mayes
  • Philip Piggin

Services to Dance Education

  • Sally Chance
  • Lesley Graham
  • Katrina Rank
  • Joy & Dawn Ransley
  • Kim Walker

Outstanding Achievement in Community Dance

  • Mature Artists Dance Experience Moment to Moment
  • Sprung Integrated Dance Company Encounters
  • Country Arts SA & Larissa McGowan DanceXtend Jungle Gym
  • Liz Lea & Collaborators Great Sport!
  • Tracks Dance Company Landed
  • Salamanca Arts Centre Salamanca Moves Festival

Outstanding Achievement in Youth Dance

Outstanding Achievement in Choreography

  • Rafael Bonachela Anima (Sydney Dance Company)
  • Brendan Bradshaw Dracula (Melbourne City Ballet)
  • Kristina Chan A Faint Existence (Force Majeure)
  • Craig Davidson Ambiguous Content (West Australian Ballet)
  • Lucy Guerin The Dark Chorus (Lucy Guerin Inc)
  • Lucas Jervies Little Red Riding Hood (Queensland Ballet)
  • Stephanie Lake Double Blind (Stephanie Lake Company)
  • Melanie Lane Re-make (Chunky Move)
  • Jack Lister Rational/​Animal (Queensland Ballet)
  • Jo Lloyd Mermermer (Chunky Move)
  • Larissa McGowan Mortal Condition
  • Danielle Micich & Philip Channells Off The Record (Force Majeure & Dance Integrated Australia)
  • Kyle Page & Amber Haines Rainbow Vomit (Dancenorth)
  • Andre Santos In Black (West Australian Ballet)
  • Garry Stewart Objekt (Australian Dance Theatre)
  • Anouk van Dijk Lucid (Chunky Move)
  • Anouk van Dijk Rule of Thirds (Chunky Move)
  • Natalie Weir We Who Are Left (Queensland Ballet)

Outstanding Performance by a Company

  • The Australian Ballet Nijinsky
  • Australian Dance Theatre Habitus
  • Bangarra Dance Theatre Our Land People Stories
  • Chunky Move Re-Make
  • Chunky Move Lucid
  • Co3 re:Loaded
  • Dancenorth Rainbow Vomit
  • Dancenorth If ___ Was ___
  • Expressions Dance Company Black
  • Force Majeure & Dance Integrated Australia Off The Record
  • Lucy Guerin Inc The Dark Chorus
  • Queensland Ballet Strictly Gershwin
  • Queensland Ballet A Midsummer Night’s Dream
  • Sydney Dance Company Untamed
  • West Australian Ballet The Nutcracker

Outstanding Achievement in Independent Dance

  • Australian Dance Artists Seven Impossible Pieces for Four Dancers
  • Australian Dance Party Nervous
  • Praxis Dark Matter
  • Dance Makers Collective DADS
  • Emma Fishwick microLandscapes
  • Ghenoa Gela Fragments of Malungoka-Women of the Sea
  • Lina Limosani One’s Wicked Ways
  • Paul Malek Boyz
  • Paul Malek and Kim Adam Yours Truly
  • Alice Dixon, Caroline Meaden & William McBride Fallen O’er
  • Larissa McGowan Mortal Condition
  • Pepa Molina Bush Bailando
  • Liesel Zink The Stance

Outstanding Performance by a Female Dancer

  • Natalie Allen Decadance Perth 2016 (STRUT Dance)
  • Michelle Barnet When Time Stops (Expressions Dance Company)
  • Juliet Burnett Re-Make (Chunky Move)
  • Juliette Barton Lux Tenebris (Sydney Dance Company)
  • Jana Castillo Off The Record (Force Majeure & Dance Integrated Australia)
  • Kristina Chan A Faint Existence (Force Majeure)
  • Janessa Dufty Lux Tenebris (Sydney Dance Company)
  • Zoë Dunwoodie Habitus (Australian Dance Theatre)
  • Amber Haines Syncing Feeling (Dancenorth)
  • Amy Harris Nijinsky (The Australian Ballet)
  • Sarah Hepburn The Nutcracker (West Australian Ballet)
  • Lina Kim Cinderella (Queensland Ballet)
  • Ako Kondo Coppélia (The Australian Ballet)
  • Stephanie Lake The Dark Chorus (Lucy Guerin Inc.)
  • Lauren Langlois Lucid (Chunky Move)
  • Talitha Lee Maslin The Cry (Co3)
  • Elise May When Time Stops (Expressions Dance Company)
  • Larissa McGowan Mortal Condition
  • Ashley McLellan If ___ Was ___ (Dancenorth)
  • Pepa Molina Bush Bailando (Pepa Molina Dance Company)
  • Clare Morehen Lest We Forget (Queensland Ballet)
  • Meg Parry Romeo and Juliet (West Australian Ballet)
  • Yanela Pinera Strictly Gershwin (Queensland Ballet)
  • Tara Jade Samaya Rule of Thirds (Chunky Move)
  • Taree Sansbury [Mis]conceive (Thomas ES Kelly)
  • Jesse Scales Untamed (Sydney Dance Company)
  • Lilian Steiner The Dark Chorus (Lucy Guerin Inc.)
  • Leanne Stojmenov Nijinsky (The Australian Ballet)
  • Rachael Walsh Strictly Gershwin (Queensland Ballet)
  • Brooke Widdison-Jacobs Radio & Juliet (West Australian Ballet)

Outstanding Performance by a Male Dancer

  • Joshua Arkey La Choreografia (Danza Del Arte)
  • Vito Bernasconi Lest We Forget (Queensland Ballet)
  • Thomas Bradley Mortal Condition (Larissa McGowan)
  • Richard Causer Black (Expressions Dance Company)
  • Benjamin Chapman When Time Stops (Expressions Dance Company)
  • Richard Cilli Lux Tenebris (Sydney Dance Company)
  • Nelson Earl Lux Tenebris (Sydney Dance Company)
  • Chengwu Guo Vitesse (The Australian Ballet)
  • Benjamin Hancock The Dark Chorus (Lucy Guerin Inc)
  • Mitchell Harvey The Cry (Co3)
  • Rudy Hawkes Little Atlas (The Australian Ballet)
  • Alexander Idasak The Nutcracker (Queensland Ballet)
  • Kevin Jackson Nijinsky (The Australian Ballet)
  • Kris Kerr Strictly Gershwin (Queensland Ballet)
  • Bernhard Knauer Wildebeest (Sydney Dance Company)
  • Matthew Lehmann The Nutcracker (West Australian Ballet)
  • Gakuro Matsui The Nutcracker (West Australian Ballet)
  • James Vu Anh Pham Rule of Thirds (Chunky Move)
  • Matte Roffe Habitus (Australian Dance Theatre)
  • Andre Santos The Nutcracker (West Australian Ballet)
  • Andre Santos Romeo and Juliet  (Western Australian Ballet)
  • Russell Thorpe re:Loaded 2016 (Co3)
  • Joel Woellner A Midsummer Night’s Dream (Queensland Ballet)
  • Shane Wuerthner Strictly Gershwin (Queensland Ballet)
  • Jack Ziesing Decadance Perth 2016 (STRUT Dance)

Outstanding Achievement in Dance on Film or New Media

  • Jonathan Homsey Shujin
  • Juliet Burnett, Nicholas Robert Thayer & Gabrielle Adamidis Letting Blood
  • Lucy Doherty Mandala (One Dance Collective)
  • Richard James Allen Spotlight (The Physical TV Company)
  • Sally Wicks & Dan Crestani Empathy is the Devil (Sumi Productions)
  • The Samaya Wives The Knowledge Between Us
  • Stephen Agisilaou New York City (Vertical Shadows Dance Company)

Outstanding Achievement in Commercial Dance, Musicals or Physical Theatre

The Lifetime Achievement Award for this year will be announced mid August, and the 2017 Australian Dance Awards will be presented by Ausdance Victoria in Melbourne on Sunday 24 September.

ADA News 2017
  • Image: Re-make by Chunky Move, Next Move commission
  • Choreography: Melanie Lane
  • Photography: Gregory Lorenzutti